The Luster is Diminishing

Do you remember when you skipped lunch because  you knew at supper that night, you were going to eat the most amazing meal of your life?  Maybe something like this:

Do you remember that first bite?  Juicy, Scrumptious, Heavenly….

Now, how about the last bite?  Something like this: (If I put this in my mouth, chew, and then swallow, there is a chance I may throw up)

How about a new car?  It’s never the same three years later as it was that first day you drove it.  It’s called the Law of Diminishing Returns.

I find that it is always occurring and we all take part in it.  For example, remember email?  When it came out and everyone started getting an email address, they would forward everything that was forwarded to them.  Spammers came out and email boxes were stuffed full of junk like real mail boxes and people were changing email addresses to escape the inundation of flak flying at them.

Then came Blogs, Facebook and Twitter.  People jumped on and would post a half dozen times.  Some would do that per minute.  But then, they would eventually lose their luster also.  I question the numbers that Facebook and Twitter throw out.  Facebook has over 550 million users.  Are they really using it? Everyday?  Twitter folks talk about their followers, but, really, how many are they interacting with and having a conversation with?

What is it about us that things like this happen?  How is it they lose the luster? Are people not as interested on day two through eternity?  Are the people they come in contact with not as interesting on day two through eternity?

Please don’t get me wrong?  I am not trying to devalue the value of Social Media. Heaven knows I play in that spectrum quite a bit and I greatly value the people that I have befriended over the years of its existence.  But, it really isn’t the saviour of business or  the amazing discovery of the century.  It really is just another way to communicate and connect in a real time manner.  However, it only works if there are people on the other end listening.

I am interested in your thoughts about how the Law of Diminishing Returns is playing in your life.

Technologically? Materially?  Spiritually?  Relationally?  In business? Tell me what you think?

35 responses to “The Luster is Diminishing

  1. I think you are on to something here. I have seen the Law of Diminishing Returns in my life in all the areas you mention. Sadly, that includes what is spiritual. I come back from camp, rallies, lectureships, seminars, etc all fired up, then a few months down the line I struggle to keep that fire going. I start a book that I think will challenge me spiritually, and do not get half-way through it before I am on a different topic.

    My solution? I focus on what God did (does) for me in Christ and when I really, really focus on the greatness of the Love involved there I get fired-up again. Sometimes, I just forget to focus.

  2. Bonnie Kaye Schulz

    For me it sets in if no one else catches my “fire” after giving it my all for a certain amount of time. Social Media is a place where we might be able to find others(those that we don’t interact with on a daily basis in one way or another outside of SM) interested in the same topics, that catch your “fire’ or share the same interests, therefore keeping things from going the way of the LODR. If it’s not happening in both SM and in our routine/daily lives, I can see the Law of Diminishing Returns happening to SM as well. So I see Social Media as helping us go against the Law of Diminishing Returns. Thanks for letting me share my personal experience with SM and the LODR. :-)

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Luster is Diminishing | The View from the Tractor -- Topsy.com

  4. For me it sets in if no one else catches my “fire” after giving it my all for a certain amount of time. Social Media is a place where we might be able to find

  5. Mix in chick peas, red pepper, cranberries, walnuts and parsley. Chill before serving. Stays good in fridge for up to

  6. I struggle to keep that fire going. I start a book that I think will challenge me spiritually, and do not get half-way through it before I am on a different topic.

  7. rests, therefore keeping things from going the way of the LODR. If it’s not happening in both SM and in our routine/daily lives, I can see the Law

  8. don’t interact with on a daily basis in one way or another outside of SM) interested in the same topics, that catch your “fire’ or share the same interests, therefore keeping things from going the way of the LODR. If it’s

  9. in one way or another outside of SM) interested in the same topics, that catch your “fire’ or share the same interests, therefore keeping things from going

  10. etc all fired up, then a few months down the line I struggle to keep that fire going. I start a book that e spiritually, and do not get half-way through it before I am on a different topic.

  11. at made up names and stories about my food. The fantasy especially helped the vegetables go down easier. Broccoli florets were trees, cauliflower were my birch trees, brussels sprouts were

  12. o keep that fire going. I start a book that I think will challenge me spiritually, and do not get half-way through it before I am on a different topic.

  13. keep that fire going. I start a book that I think will challenge me spiritually, and do not get half-way through it before I am on a different topic.

  14. if no one else catches my “fire” after giving it my all for a certain amount of time. Social Media is a place where we might be able to find others(those that we don’t inte

  15. o one else catches my “fire” after giving it my all for a certain amount of time. Social Media is a place where we might be able to find others(those that we don’t interact with

  16. I struggle to keep that fire going. I start a book that I think will challenge me spiritually, and do not get half-way through it before I am on a different topic.

  17. e going. I start a book that I think will challenge me spiritually, and do not get half-way through it before I am on a different topic.

  18. Bible, I was free to highlight anything, scribble thoughts, questions or any notation. I found this very liberating. Highly recommended!

  19. I start a book that I think will challenge me spiritually, and do not get half-way through it before I am on a different topic.

  20. Great point! However, being a weak and conformist human that I am, I have engulfed myself to starting something on the 1st day of January. Its, called reading

  21. really focus on the greatness of the Love involved there I get fired-up again. Sometimes

  22. I come back from camp, rallies, lectureships, seminars, etc all fired up, then a few months down the line I struggle to keep that fire going

  23. I come back from camp, rallies, lectureships, seminars, etc all fired up, then a few months down the line I struggle to keep that fire going

  24. on my blog I will also link back to this post Thanks

  25. Marble Floor Care marble floors, heavy favorite, but there is a special need for a delicate cleaning and protection.

  26. There are veterinary clinic Maltepe district of Istanbul. Provide emergency ambulance services to better serve you.

  27. You have made this topic easy to read,This is a wonderfully written article. You must have done a lot of interesting and easy to understand. research in this area.

  28. it was quite helpful and told a lot.Thanks for writing this, Web Design

  29. This is one of the most awaited event most designers are looking forward to. I’ll definitely be part of this activity. Can’t wait to see new amazing vector designs

  30. Burada Seo halkları thanke. hause

  31. Burada Seo halkları thanke. hause

  32. Burada Seo halkları thanke. hause

  33. i will link my blog to this article, it’s really nice

    marble polishing

  34. Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is magnificent, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about The Luster is Diminishing | The View from the Tractor .

  35. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about The Luster is Diminishing | The View from the Tractor .

Leave a Reply

