Plowing a New Field

I have been reading several blogs and after much debate in my own head, I have started my own contribution to this interesting world. This is much like a fresh field that has never been productive. Time to hook up the plow and break the sod. I look forward to adding an interesting perspective from my world to yours.

Who am I? Well, wouldn’t that be a little presumptuous if I just came out and told you about me. It actually might be kind of fun to keep a flare of anonymity to this little post. Then it won’t be so much about me as it will be about you, or us. I will reveal more and more as I continue to post, but suffice it to say, I operate from a tractor or combine (pics to follow) or some type of machinery and I seem to carry an Ipod with me most of the time filling my head with ideas and thoughts that are just too good to not share with the world. Many of my close friends have told me I am not ordinary and I agree. But then who amongst is really ordinary?

Let me tell you where I sit before I tell you where I stand. I live, work and breathe on a farm. I walk out my front door and I am at work. My closest neighbor is over a mile away. I have a wife and a family. I grew up in the city, or cities. My father was in the Air Force and we moved around a few times. One of my cherished possessions is knowing Jesus and spending time with the family at church.

Living on the land and providing for my family are great obligations. You really get to know God when a job is conducive to so many things you can’t control. It has been a great learning experience and I look forward to sharing this perspective in the near future. This is going to be fun! Let’s hope for the best – I mean, no breakdowns – and see what happens with this years crop.

Did you pray for rain?

One response to “Plowing a New Field

  1. welcome to the blogosphere. hope you like it.

    wish I could have gone to Tulsa, glad you got to. I haven’t been since 2001.

    I did some farming growing up in rural KY. wish I had had an ipod type thing then.

    Hey Brian, glad to have you aboard! Plan on being there next year, we are going to have fun! No Ipod necessary

Leave a Reply

