Be Prepared!

I was once in the boyscouts.  As much as I know, their motto was “Be Prepared”.  Well, as a Christian, Peter talked about this same motto for us.

1 Peter 3:15
But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect,

Guess what happened to me today?  It’s funny, but this kind of thing happens to me quite often.  I must tell you that as a farmer, living in the middle of nowhere (my closest neighbor is over a mile away) and spending alot of time by myself, I am a closet people person.  Nothing elates my soul more than to see someone else happy and smiling.  But, the ability to talk to any and everyone also opens the doors for more than one may bargain for….so one must be ready and be prepared.

Today I ventured to the Dentist.  He was a brand new dentist to me as my wife had been after me to go to her dentist.  I thought, Ok, I will try it.  Well, I must tell you and we can all keep a secret here, one of the receptionists had come to our church in the past, and I wanted to try and get her to come back.  I was willing to suffer pain to do it.  When I arrived, they were busy, but I did notice a Bible on the table in the waiting room.  I was called back and the dental hygeniest hygeieinest girl who cleans your teeth asked questions as I mumbled some answer.  (How do they know what you say is beyond me?) 

After she was finished, the girl that I really wanted to see came in and said she was sorry that she did not come to church.  I did not make her wrong and told her there’s always next time.  She then informs me that since I am preaching, that I get a 50% discount on everything.  (DUDE, now this is looking up!) and a 10% discount for Firefighters and 10% for EMT’s.  So, this is looking great.  The Dentist walks in as we are talking and immediately she informs him that I was a preacher.  He said, “Great, you get a 50% discount on everything, only you, not your entire family”  Ok, at least it is something. He then asked the question.

“So, what did you preach on?”  Oh why me????  That was yesterday!  Not only was I drawing a blank, I was trying to think of something that was going to knock his socks off.  I thought, there is no way I can develop into any understandability what it was that I preached yesterday.  WHY was I here?  This is too bad..why am I being punished?  But, I had it!  I told  him what I preached on the time before because it was Really Good Stuff!  I told him that I preached on the fear of God versus the fear of Evil.  Someday I will blog on that as it was great stuff.  Anyway, he thought that was incredible stuff and appeared very interested in the subject matter and wanted more details.  But, I thought as he was counting teeth, this is an opportunity.  So I said, “have you ever studied what the Gospel is?”  His ears perked up and he was interested.  I said, “well, if you ever looked at Rms. 1:16, The gospel is the power that saves us”  He turned to the girl I have been trying to get to come back to church and said, “Do we have a bible?”  I said, in the front on the table, and 20 seconds later, the Dentist is in the room veryifying what I had just told him and wanting to know what the gospel was.  Who knows what will come out of this, but, I am a farmer, and all I am instructed to do is sow the seeds, God will do the rest!

Always Be Prepared!  Don’t read this verse and understand what it says!  

3 responses to “Be Prepared!

  1. Mr. Tractor, your post compliments and illustrates the theological treatise on being a missionary the John Dobbs, whom you link, posted earlier today. Great story.
    C3

  2. I like your way of putting things!!! Well said.

  3. Great stuff brother….but I must ask; Does this mean there will be dentist in Heaven????? 😉

    Bobby

Leave a Reply

