A gorgeous day

Today is supposed to be beautiful here.  Sunny skies, a beautiful sunset this morning, 80 degrees for the high, light breezes, just perfect.  And then…

Cool down, 20 mph winds, rain, and even snow with temps in the lower 30’s.  Maybe even blizzard conditions.  What a radical change!  How does one ever adapt to this type of environment?  Nothing stays the same.  The plants don’t know what to do.  I don’t know if I should fire up the Air Conditioner or the Heater.  I turn on the air conditioner because I left the heater on and it is way too hot.  It is very confusing!

And then, it makes me think.  For many, this is just like life.  One minute things can be rolling along just perfect, and then, Whammo, life happens and things just seem to fall apart and no one knows whether to turn on the AC or the Heater.  It can occur around a disaster in life.  A unexpected death in the family, a naturally occurring  disaster, a bad report from the doctor, or whatever it is that hits you right between the eyes.  Everyone will go through something like this in their life.  You can’t live and not experience these types of roller coaster rides.  No one said life was fair, and no one said it was going to be easy.  My wonderment is watching how people react to these experiences.  Some become religious, some will hide, and some accept it and are ready for the next. 

My thought around this subject is this.  In Emergency management, there is a disaster preparedness plan.  In life, people just take what is thrown at them and many are not sure what to do in the event of a disaster.  It is unfamiliar territory after all.  Have you ever thought about how you would take the news of a storm?  Are you prepared?

One response to “A gorgeous day

  1. In our Bible study last night, we were reading in Acts 16 about Paul and Silas being beaten and thrown into jail. However, even after they were flogged and had their legs put into stocks, they were praying and singing hymns to God.

    THAT is my disaster plan for life. I may cry a little (or a lot) while I am being “beaten”. My body may physically hurt when life throws me into the stocks. However, I pray every day that no matter if life is good or bad by my standards, that God will help me glorify Him in all I do. I don’t always get it right and sometimes I just really mess up by reacting badly, but thankfully God is a gracious and always gives us another chance to do it better the next time.

    When it is hard to remain positive, I always have to remember that God has brought so many blessings out of hard times. With every single difficult thing I have been through in my lifetime, God has allowed me to grow personally and also to use the knowledge I gained through that experience to help someone else as they have dealt with a similar experience.

    We have an incredibly great God that blesses us so much…..even when everything seems to be falling apart!

Leave a Reply

