Christians and Money

Oh, there are certain things that you aren’t supposed to talk about at church. Talk about money and boy, you can lose some friends. I came across this post and thought it was very good from a website that sure makes you think about your money.

I heard it said that money isn’t everything, but it ranks right up there with oxygen. You gotta have it to survive in this society. With gas prices like they are, and looking to go higher, it would appear that if you had plenty of money, just wait, you might be in poverty before long. There are many things that I know for sure and I hold to be true and self-evident. However, I just don’t know about this money issue. Let me briefly explain what I mean.

I heard a preacher earlier this year claim that if you were rich, drove a Mercedes, and had a big screen tv, you need to repent and examine your life of luxury. Pretty bold and condemning statements, and ones that hit close to home. If you are reading this, you more than likely have a computer, which means you have electricity, which means, you are rich! (Like my deductive reasoning?) You are living a luxurious lifestyle, you are loaded! How does that make you feel? Aren’t you selfish?

However, I have also heard it said that Jesus came to give life and to give it more abundantly. Maybe there is more a spiritual connotation to those words of Jesus. I wonder if God really intended for the drug dealers, pimps, MTV music producers, and thieves and scam artists like some of the CEO’s in the news lateley to have all that wealth. Yeah, they know how to spend their money! They sure gave a bunch of it to the homeless shelter.NOT. Do you think God really wants all that wealth in the hands of the drug dealers?  I would like to think that I could do a much better job of giving it away.

So, I find myself somewhat confused as to just how I think about this. I would love a million dollars, just so I could give it all away. I have been to Mexico where we built houses smaller than my bathroom for a family of six. They were built on a dumping ground. Diapers and dead dogs all around. These people paid $2500 for a 20 year lease to build a house here. You should have seen their smiles to watch their house go up, you’d thought they won the lottery.  We are rich beyond our wildest imagination.  It’s what we do with it and how we think about it that really matters.

Leave a Reply

