House For Rent

Looking for a place to live? Need a house? Wanna move to Oregon?

Here is an article that you probably won’t be too surprised at it, but at the same time, just makes you shake your head. Heres the Link—warning—might make you want to drink bleach!

Its a sad state of affairs and it makes me wonder why some people miss the lesson on personal responsibility?

I sometimes wonder why people just miss out on what is a proper way to live. How do you help people like this? It seems that people who can’t pay their rent, can’t pay their bills, can’t keep a house livable, can’t, can’t can’t, seem to just get pushed to the side.

I am sure there are several churches across the country that get calls weekly from someone just like in this article that are asking for help. They don’t care about your church, they just want some fundage. And here in-lies the debate. Do you just give them the money, or do you help them out? Do you find unique ways to give them assistance? Or do you just consider them a bum or lowlife, thank them nicely for their call, offer a “God Bless You” and politely hang up the phone.

Let’s say you get a call from a lady who needs some help paying her rent. You don’t know her, but she got your number. Do you:

a. give her cash,

b. say nice things and wish her well

c. put her in touch with someone else in the church

d. invite her into your home, help her with her money management issues, and give her some supoort

I am constantly reminding myself, it’s not my money! This world is not my home! It’s love one another, not love just a few select people that fit your specifications. In fact, the above posed question just happened to me. She lives 35 miles away from me and is desperately behind in her rent. She has a minimum wage job. I am not sure what the whole problem is, but I tell people that call me needing assistance, “We don’t help people with a one time donation, we help people who want to get out of this constant problem. I don’t put band aids on, I am ready to perform surgery. If you want our help, we are going to do some major shifts in how things are done.” The silence on the other end of the phone is deafening until they realize, OK, I will tell this guy what he wants so he just gives me the money.

It has been a struggle. Most times people just want the free money and don’t want anything to do with changing their life. There are those out there who are in sincere desperate times and want a way out. Those are the ones we can really impact and help them change their lives. It’s not easy trying to determine which are which.

31“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his throne in heavenly glory. 32All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. 33He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.
34“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’
37“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’
40“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’

Get ready, now that you read this far down, and hopefully read the linked article, you might be getting the call from the Vaughn family. What are you going to do?

One response to “House For Rent

  1. motorcyclegrandmalinda

    In We Care Ministries we go to local congregations and show them how to help in situations like this. It does mean going into places and yes getting a bit dirty some times. When people know you really care about them they will listen about the Jesus who cared enough to die for them. We have gone in and cleaned someone’s home before, helped them move on many occasions, helped couples get married and many other things that just had families overwhelmed. You have to get to know something about people and get into their life and it is not always going to be the easy write a check kind of thing to do.

Leave a Reply

