Taking a Risk

Sunday evening, my son Tyler, age 5, looked outside and started to become concerned about the weather. I took a look too and told him not to worry, the clouds were to the north and east of us and shouldn’t affect us. Now, last week, Kearney, Nebraska and parts of the eastern portions of Nebraska suffered quite a bit of damage from a severe storm filled with wind, hail, and tornado’s. Lots of damage.

After I checked the visual sightings, I checked the computer and the radar. I noticed that there was more to come and worse yet, it was headed right toward us. As a farmer with crops only weeks away from being harvested, a nasty storm with hail is about as much wanted as burgers made from skunk meat. So, the Fire Department was called out to track the storm headed our way.

I took off to the north and positioned myself with a great view of this massive black wall cloud. Listening to the FD radio, it was obvious this was where the action was because others were reporting that there were storm chasers all over the place. To me, that was sickening as it was becoming more and more obvious that this little cell was heading right for my house.

It’s a sickening kind of feeling when what you have worked for the past entire year could be wiped out in a mere matter of seconds with hail. Or, your place could be wiped out by a tornado. As I sat there and watched these storm chasers come towards me and stop to take readings with their fancy equipment, I did the only thing I knew that might work to affect the projected dreary outcome. I closed my eyes and bowed my head and prayed. I would love to report that when I raised my head and looked to the sky, I could view a beautiful sunset and the clouds had magically disappeared, however, shortly after, hailstones began to hit the pickup and I made myself disappear. It was getting close.

I pulled into my yard and began to prepare for the worst. But, the 5 minutes it took me to get to my house, the storm drastically weakened and veered to the east and all we received was a few drops of rain and about 6″ of wind. I cannot tell you how much God has given me to be thankful! I know that the crop isn’t in the bin yet, but to this point, God has really blessed me beyond measure. Planting a crop, investing a boat load of money into an acre of grain, taking a risk to produce a crop that really is only determined by measures outside of your control, is a huge risk.

It’s when you take that risk you discover just how powerful God is. He gives us a spirit of power, not of timidity. All we are commanded to do is plant the crop, the rest is up to God. You live a life of faith everyday, especially as a farmer. One minute, you may look at a field and add up your prosperity, the next, it could be wiped out by what we refer to as the “great white combine” (hail). I suffered a hailstorm once, and it completely wiped the field out. Guess what! I planted again…and again..and again. Its all a part of life, there are good times, and there are hailstorms in life. All of which should aim to point us to realize, ultimately, I am not in control. The only thing I can control is my mind and how I deal with and view these things that happen.  Take a look at how blessed you are today!  I know I will be.

One response to “Taking a Risk

  1. I am so glad you were safe and so were your crops. North Platte rarely gets hit but they always tell us we are going to be. They always veer off at the last moment. Just like it did for you.
    Isn’t it great being one of God’s favorite children? (grin)

    blessings
    Neva

Leave a Reply

