Family Vacation

Well, I am not really on family vacation, because we are working and will be writing off this trip on our taxes because we are working, but our whole family is with us.  We left Nebraska Wednesday afternoon and headed south.  We loaded our van with our 4 kids, Michael, Tyler, Kylie, and our 5 month old Trevyn.  We also included mom and dad, and, because we are working, we brought along Grandma too.  If this isn’t a recipe for disaster, I don’t know what is.  I just watched Chevy Chase in the family truckster too many times and have horror dreams.  At least we don’t have to bring the pooch along.  Grandma is no Aunt Edna either.

We drove to Colorado Springs that night.  If you ever drive between Denver and Colorado Springs, you should truly seek counseling.  I have only done it a few times and each time I cringe at the sight of road construction through this area.  We basically spent time completely stopped on the interstate from road construction at 10pm.  And then, these guys working on the road play with their lives as they like to stand mere inches from where cars have to drive to pass them.  It is just nuts.

And really, what is it with hotel showers?  I am a short 6’2″ and I don’t understand why shower heads in hotels have to be placed at 5’9″ high.  I prefer the water to fall down and not shoot up my nose to get the shampoo out of my hair.  Just bend down you say?  Oh, and have the shower head over my head and then when I stand back upright I bang my head on the actual apparatus.  Don[t get me started…and is it just me or do hotels use fabric stifferners (opposite of softener) on their towels now?  I think the one I used was half sandpaper…but, what a way to remove the dead skin cells that I missed in that low aiming shower spray.

We got up today and made our way to Albuquerque, NM.  We will be checking out the MRS. New Mexico pageant this weekend.  Makes me appreciate the fact that I am married to MRS. WORLD!

On my way down, I was engrossed in a book that comes from my friend John Dobbs. It is called “The Shack”, and I am over half way through.  It is definitely one of those books that pulls you in and captivates the innermost sanctuaries of the heart.  Maybe I will discuss it with you back here at a later date.

Tomorrow we will swim, ride the tram that goes up the mountain here in Albuquerque.  We aren’t sure what else we are going to do.  It is going to be a good time.  The kids have spent time today jumping on the beds in the hotel.  I feel sorry for our hotel neighbors, but, as I type this, it is extremely quiet and all I hear is snoring…and it’s not even me.

I almost forgot, tonight I had two of our three elders call while I was working within a 5 minute time span.  I couldn’t take their call, but I was real nervous that they would be calling me.  I immediately started to ponder, who had died or what tragedy had happened, but, I found out it was all great news.  Traveling evangelist Jerry Tallman was sitting in our parking lot in his camper.  They were just letting me know he was close by.  Here I was worried, silly me.

3 responses to “Family Vacation

  1. Have a great trip Tucker!

  2. Hey Tuckers! Have a great time. You take care of that grandma. She’s one of the best!

  3. Hope the trip has been fun and that you didn’t kill Aunt Edna….oops, I mean Grandma! I am interested to hear what you thought about “The Shack”.

Leave a Reply

