Opinion versus Fact

A fool finds no pleasure in understanding but delights in airing his own opinions. Prov. 18:2

Let me confess, this is a struggle. There were many times when someone would say something about me, or something I was involved in or a conglomerate of many other items that would set me into a psychological tailspin. In my head, what they said must be true. And, that statement of truth must be a fact.

I have some things in my head and already started that shall grace these pages and the seven people that read this blog may find controversial. I only speak them out of love and to challenge what you think and believe. Just as one carpenter did some 2000 years ago. It is easy to grow when one learns that God has given a mind to think with.

However, light was shed on this particular issue and I find it quite peculiar, being one who really strives to find black and white in everything, that so many suffer from my same disability. The problem comes when we take opinion and make it fact! It’s like the phrase that Jack Webb on Dragnet never uttered, but so many claim he did, “Just the facts ma’am, just the facts”. {Yes this statement is fact and not opinion}

I catch myself often stating my opinion as fact, and I relish catching others stating their opinion as fact. I often like to challenge those in bible class stating a fact when they start the statement with, “I THINK”. Good, I am glad you think, but is this opinion or fact?

Let me describe it to you with this illustration. I teach for the State Fire Marshals Office in Nebraska. I was conducting a class with a fire department that contained several Mennonite brethren. These people are remarkable and put us to shame in the ministry of serving but, that is my opinion. Anyway, it is a rule that you must be clean shaven to wear the air masks used in firefighting. Mennonites have beards. So, in a discussion of why they have beards, and beliefs in Christianity, our conversation grew into our beliefs of salvation. Now, see the scene here, I am representing the state of Nebraska, talking religion to 10 guys, half of which aren’t Mennonite, when one asks me point blank, “Do you believe one must be baptized to be saved?” Why do I get myself into these types of situations???? Actually, I loved it!!! Now, is this answer going to be opinion, or is it going to be fact? My answer: “I BELIEVE………………..(long pause as the room was silent) that the bible says, ……….you must be baptized for the remission of your sins” I stated a fact and not my opinion. I could have stated my opinion, but it is just that, an opinion and not fact!

So, please examine these next few days when you hear opinion and when you hear facts. Or, when you hear opinions, but you took it as fact. And really remember this factual posting as you read others opinions!

One response to “Opinion versus Fact

  1. Question: Is it the baptism that provides the remission? Or is it the repentance? I think if I read passages like Mark 1:4, Luke 3:3, Luke 24:27, and some others, it is repentace, followed by baptism as an outward sign of an inward work.

    But that is just my opinion. . . ;>)

Leave a Reply

