Go ahead, make fun of me

I find myself in situations of jocularity.  Oftentimes, it is because I am eager to place myself in this type of situation.  Life is too short to be serious all the time.  In fact, I enjoy taking serious moments and finding the humor in the situation.  Laughter is just plain important.

There are times when I don’t even mind if i am the reason people are laughing.  But there are times when I am laughed at based on my beliefs.  When I was in college, I was called a BibleThumper.  Trust me when I say, I have been called much worse, but it was who it was that was painful.  I don’t mind being ridiculed, if it had merit, but to be ridiculed out of ignorance is hurtful.  At least it was then.  I was once told I had thin skin.  Not knowing what this really meant, I soon realized that things needed to just roll off instead of sticking.

Your religious beliefs may not be important.  That’s your choice, but for many of you who read this, I am sure that a relationship with the Creator is a priority.  I don’t like being made fun of for being a BibleThumper anymore than the next person.  Maybe that should be taken as a compliment.  Read what Jesus said:

34Then he called the crowd to him along with his disciples and said: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. 35For whoever wants to save his life[c] will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me and for the gospel will save it. 36What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul? 37Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul? 38If anyone is ashamed of me and my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his Father’s glory with the holy angels.”

What I have come to realize is, those that make fun of you, are really the searchers.  They don’t understand the whole believing in Jesus thing or how it works or even why it is important.  But, just maybe they realize that you have something, a connection, that they desire.  Many feel this grasp to be a part of the popular world, but realize it gets them nothing and takes them nowhere.  If only they would just ask, the answers are easy to find.  But, if they did begin the search….well then, they would be BibleThumpers too.

As a good friend tells me all the time, by being a BibleThumper, “the end results are out of this world!”

3 responses to “Go ahead, make fun of me

  1. Growing up in a Church of Christ I used to get the analogies of “Would I go to a Bon Jovi concert if it was him and no band?” Was tough to explain to all my so called buddies. And by the way, I’ve never seen a bible thumper thump a bible.

  2. you know, I had this marvelous moment of clarity in High School, when one of my dear friends name John who I often thought loved to argue with me for the sake of argument, took up “my case” in English Lit. Someone made a disparaging remark regarding Christians and John paused a moment to see what I would say, and when I didn’t he said “it takes more courage and conviction to believe in something you cannot see than it does to disbelieve because you cannot see.” This from someone who in theory did not believe and often pushed me to the point of frustration demanding answers and “proof.”
    You never know when they are actually listening and watching though they say otherwise.
    Peace to you brother

  3. You always make me smile, Tucker. But I’m not laughing at ya!

Leave a Reply

