I’ve been tagged.

I remember playing that game when I was a kid.  I never liked getting tagged and being “it” because it was always hard to try and do likewise.  It seemed everyone was always faster.  Now I play with my kids.  Seems at age 4 and 5, I am still having a hard time trying to tag them.  Maybe that’s why everyone wants to play tag with me.

My friend Wendy from Australia tagged me with this endeavor.  L.L. Barkat created this meme, “Five Ways Blogging Has Changed My Life.”  I am such a simpleton, I didn’t even know what a meme was.  Read to the end to see if you have been tagged!

How Blogging has changed my life….let me count the ways

1.  Expanding a Network, Creating a Community.  I have met some tremendous people via this communication platform.  John Dobbs the blog king, Trey Morgan, the Vice President to the Blog King, Wendy from Australia,  in charge of catering, Brian Nicklaus from Jersey, secretary of sports information, Matt Dabbs, inspiration coordinator, Neva Cooper love coordinator for the Kingdom, Craig Hicks, not real sure what his title is, and Sarah Stirman, just an inspiration, and a host of others who express themselves in this growing medium.  It’s new making friends you have never met before.  It is even better to meet them in person after you have met them through their writings.

2.  Voicing Opinions, Stating the Facts.  Blogging is an interesting medium, allowing people to express things that might be overlooked, or, might not have a way to be disseminated.  I have enjoyed being able to express some thoughts on particular subjects, getting to teach others about farm life in the middle of nowhere Nebraska, and just sharing some funny things of life that happens.  One thing I love to do is challenge people where they think.  I guess that stems from my own insatiable desire to challenge what I believe in.  We are all an accumulation of our experiences that determine our beliefs.  Blogging has allowed people to have new experiences and input to change our internal programs.

3.  Teaching Lessons.  Sometimes I am a very slow learner.  A while back I was with some close friends in Atlanta.  One of my friends who is involved in the political scene in Washington DC and I were talking.  On one instance, I made a flippant statement and his remark was, “Words have meaning”.  As I have found here in the blogging world, your words have meaning, and implications.  People who read this don’t see you and don’t hear your tone.  You learn that what you type is critical in how people perceive you.  (I find I am the most misunderstood lovable kind of guy… 🙂

4.  Expanding the Horizon.  Blogging has not only been something that allows me to disperse, but it also allows me to consume.  There are some amazing tech blogs I love.  I am a geek/gadget person.  They teach so much and there are not enough hours in the day to take this all in.  There are some wonderful funny sites that make me laugh.  There are incredible blogs on religious beliefs.  Nothing better than finding a new perspective on God.  Blogging is a great avenue to learn things I never knew existed.

5.  People can learn I am a simpleton.  Yep, I am just a stranger in a strangers land, I’m just a common man, drive a common van, and my dog ain’t got no pedigree.  People can learn about me.  Why they want to, I have no idea, but blogging here gives me a way to let people see inside.  And once they do, they see that I am simple, but yet very unique.  I like to keep a positive attitude.  Make people laugh.  Try to find the joy in life.  Deter the negative that is out there.  Dwell on the feel good emotions.  I like to say that I am WYSIWYG. Yep, that is me.  I read other blogs that get into some really deep subjects and topics and I think, “What on earth are they overthinking here?”.  Maybe they have some great insight, but from me, I’d rather just give you the things that make me tick.  Hopefully, it will inspire you to reciprocate in the comments section and we can get to know each other.

Blogging is definitely having an influence and making an impact.  It’s something that can remain long after you are gone.  I heard one of my favorite mentors Jim Rohn once say, “One of the few things that can remain for your children to remember who you truly were are your words.”  What better way to leave a legacy than through this unique medium?

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Here are the rules (L.L. Barkat)

1. Write about 5 specific ways blogging has affected you, either positively or negatively.
2. link back to the person who tagged you
3. link back to this parent post (I’m not so much interested in generating links, but rather in tracking the meme so I can perhaps do a summary post later on that looks at patterns and interesting discoveries.)
4. tag a few friends or five, or none at all
5. post these rules— or just have fun breaking them

And finally, I can tag someone and they can be it!  Congratulations to todays tageee’s.

1.  One of the people I think I could hang with for days.  Looking forward to meeting him someday.  The Blog Prophet Himself. my good friend Brian Nicklaus.  Looking forward to your insight.

2.  With your popularity, I would be surprised if you haven’t already been tagged.  Trey Morgan is one of my favoritist people.  This meme will be a breeze for him.  I figured he needed to be tagged.

3.  Someone who knows Trey Morgan and is one of my favorite people too.  Neva Cooper is dancing in the light on all sorts of areas.  Can’t wait to see the reasons how this blog thing has impacted her.

4.  The one voted most likely to be tagged by me, one neat guy.  Craig Hicks, you are on tap!  Blame John Dobbs for this, he started it!

5.  This choice has been difficult.  I would select a very new blogger, but he has only been doing this a couple of weeks.  (More on him this next week).  I would select Dusty Rush, but he evidently finds no value in blogging so it would be pointless.  I will Tag someone to attempt to get into his good graces.  I highly doubt that he knows me from Adam, but, I did insult him via a comment about his choice of lawn tractors.  Mr. Terry Rush, I tag you as I enjoy your blog.

6.  If you aren’t a part of this tagged list and are hurt or disappointed that you didn’t get listed here…then, Tag, you are IT!  The rules state I can tag as many or few that I want.  So go for it and link back to me and I will read them.

For all of you listed above,….YOU”RE IT!

5 responses to “I’ve been tagged.

  1. Great post! I knew tagging you was a good idea!

  2. Hey — you called me an inspiration. You are too kind! Thanks for those words, but I would like to know how I can take Neva’s title of “Love Coordinator for the Kingdom”. That sounds like quite a task! 🙂

  3. I like that idea of leaving something for others through our words. Blogging is definitely a great way to do that.

  4. thanks, bro. can’t wait to meet you this side of Heaven, as well.

    i just found you had tagged me. i love lists and memes. i will work on it.

  5. VP … I love it. I thought I’d just be the joker for entertainment.

Leave a Reply

