A new season

Times, they are a changing!  A new season begins today.  The days are getting shorter.  If you drive west in the late evening, the sun is right in your eyes.  That is not a great experience and one really needs to keep their windows clean to be able to see.

Here on the farm, we had a nice lightning storm last night.  It was one of those that the bolts were so bright and intense that they lit up the sky.  The thunder was so booming it shook you right to your core.  Absolutely a fascinating spectacle to watch.  One thing that is nice where I live is, I can view all around me with unobstructed views.  I have no neighbors within miles.  It’s kind of nice most of the time except for when you need something like a cup of sugar and the closest store is 15 miles a way.

As for the farm, the corn is maturing.  The soybeans are turning color and will soon be dropping leaves.  We haven’t had a freeze yet so that is a good thing as these crops mature.  Millet is ready to harvest.  At least it was until the .40″ of rain that we received with the lightning storm.  That’s ok, because I am not ready to harvest it.  I am in the process of trying to get the wheat seeded.  You reap what you sow and right now the focus is on getting the wheat in.  I am presently around one-third done.  One good week and it should be close.

That is what is going on in my life.  The family is doing great.  Michael is in junior high football.  It is fun to watch him go through that.  Tyler is doing really good in Kindergarten.  He came home Thursday with a big scrape on his nose after falling down at recess.  His teacher called that night to make sure he was OK.  Mrs. Johnson, his teacher is really one of my favorite people.  Kylie is 4 going on 18 and enjoying preschool.  I think she is going to be a singer because whenever she is alone, she is always singing some song I never knew that she knew.  And finally, little Trevyn is cutting new teeth at 8 months old.  Let me say, I am glad I have to spend time on the tractor.  Don’t you just love parenthood?

2 responses to “A new season

  1. Wish I was there to help you drill. How is Michael doing in football? Tell the family Hi. I’ll try to call you sometime this week. It’s been a while

  2. Hey Steve,
    I’m glad to hear that everything is going well. I am totally new to this “blogging” thing. Hopefully, I will have done it correctly and my comment will pop up. This is a test, this is only a test, …..

    I, also, love the lightning and thunder that we are blessed with in this part of the country. The show can be amazing and powerful.

Leave a Reply

