Take a Farmer to Work

Let me begin by saying, Social Media is making this world even smaller.  It won’t be long and I will be able to take my phone in the tractor and host a video chat while I drive across the field.  I’ll let you know when that will happen.

Sites like Twitter and Facebook keep growing exponentially as people come aboard.  People can learn when others eat an apple or buy toilet paper at the store thanks to the question, “What are you doing?”  The world is bringing us closer together with people we haven’t seen for years, or even people we  have never met.  There must be a term for knowing people, or meeting people that you have never met in person.

combinesWell, let me take a moment on this highly respectable blog and ask you to partake in the community…

Here is your opportunity to ask me a question about farm life in Nebraska.  Anything goes!  You can ask, doesn’t mean I know the answer.  What crops, how does wheat turn into bread, what are those circles on the ground when I fly, pesticides, tractors, harvesting, or anything else you want to know.

Just post your questions in the comment and I will blog them over the next few days.  I look forward to the conversation.  Meet you at the coffee shop.

11 responses to “Take a Farmer to Work

  1. Since I already know already what farm life is like, I have no questions. Grew up in SW Iowa, then lived N of you in Alliance. I lived on a ranch were we had corn. I had never seen growing circles before or irrigation sprinklers. It is a smaller world with today’s technology. It’s great. And what do we call all of these new friends? Not sure. Needs to be catchy.

    I’m thinking cyberfriends.

  2. a train leaves CA heading east at 100 mph, another train leaves New York heading southwest at 85 mph…, so what is the price of tea in China?

    Thanks Brian! Let me answer by saying, you will have to ask that question to someone in the China department of Agriculture about tea prices. I know nothing of tea prices in China, but thank you for participating. That’s a great question and maybe Katherine can help you with that one.

  3. Why will a farmer pay 18% finance charge on his credit card but doesn’t expect to pay a penny of finance charge on his chemical bill? Oh do I have questions.

  4. I have a question.

    Why can’t you host a video chat with your cell while driving? I can. You really need to read my site more often, Mr. Tucker! 🙂

    http://tinyurl.com/ca4pkd

  5. And per your picture above:

    You guys really race those things? Now that’s country.

  6. What time do you usually get up in the morning? 🙂

    I’d also like to know how you keep gas in your car(s) and if your tractor uses it. Do you have a gas station or pump nearby?

  7. Oh I have another question – do the kids have farm chores? Or do they just help out around the house?

  8. Cyberfriends isn’t catchy enough. Needs to be a new made-up word that’s more technical sounding!

  9. Why are there green combines in your picture?

  10. And Brian, you can buy it on Amazon for a list price of $32.80 or as low as $.70 + shipping for a used version. 😉

    http://www.amazon.com/Price-Tea-China-Shaskan-Bumas/dp/0870239309/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1237064475&sr=8-1

    yeah, you can buy it at amazon. Thanks Stacey!

  11. Question: How long can a “dead seed” survive before 1) It is planted in order to grow the product (ie-corn) or 2) It withers away amounting to nothing?

Leave a Reply

