A View of The Tulsa Workshop

The Tulsa Workshop again provided the spiritual uplift and recharge one needs every now and then.  I enjoy that aspect of this Workshop every year.  It was after this workshop a year ago, I decided to come home and try out this little blogging thing after meeting John Dobbs and Trey Morgan.  This year, a whole lot more joined the party and next year, Lord willing, there could be hundreds of people there who all blog and have joined the community.

It was great to run into an old friend I went to High School with at Lubbock Christian High School, Jeff Foster, who runs the fund raising for Manuelito Navajo Children Home. I met some new friends, Royce Ogle who has a great blog, and Jaimie Riley, who is just one neat person!

If however you didn’t make it to the workshop, you might be interested in some of the things that happen there.  Terry Rush, and his crew at Memorial really outdid themselves this year.  First, they allowed us to have a bloggers luncheon sponsored by Theobloggers.  However, there was some discrepancy about the electric bill because the power was out and we ate by candlelight.  It was cool and cozy.  Let me give you a list of who all was in attendance.

Trey and Lea Morgan – Great couple and I will later post a review of Trey’s talk at Tulsa about his missional outreach through his blog.  It was excellent!  It was very motivating, encouraging and inspiring!  Stay tuned for that in the next few days.

John and Maggy Dobbs – Another great couple.  John showed why he is the Blog King with his talk about the community and all the good things that can come from it.  He was thorough in all the resources and tools that can be used and it’s all been detailed in his latest blog posts.  It was great to see them laugh in person and even give Maggy a hug!

Vivian Gentry – She just came as an avid reader and twitterer and wanted to put a face to all the people that she knew online.  She is just full of life and it was an honor to meet her.

Patrick Mead – Genuinely funny, sincere, and very down to earth.  He is, as to so many people, one of my favoritest people in the world.

Amanda Sanders (Red HOT Momma!) – One word describes this lady!  WYSIWYG!  What you see is what you get.  Read her blog and that is a great description of her.  She even let her husband tag along.

Bobby Valentine – Unfortunately, I just got to shake his hand, say HI, and stick my foot in my mouth.  Despite that, he still wanted to become my friend on Facebook.  Looking forward to reading your blog more and getting to know you better my friend!

Carl Feril – Carl is…. there are too many words that I could put here.  He is boisterous!  And he is also one of my mentors.  He has no problem telling you what you need to hear.  I guess all that psychotherapy training has really paid off.  He also brought his amazing wife Janet with him and she is one of the nicest persons you will ever meet!

Brian Nicklaus – the BlogProphet! Brian Nicklaus is just one great guy!  I was honored to meet him and embellish on our friendship.  I love his heart.

Brad Palmore – Theobloggers.  He’s the only guy I know that came with his posse.  I greatly appreciate Brad and all that he did.  I begged him one night to come and once he agreed to it, he went far above the call of duty.  If  your church needs a website, and you are thinking of blogging, you need to check out Theobloggers.  They have a service for you!  Brad also suffered a little minor incident, someone decided they needed his GPS more than him and broke out his window to get it.  Brad is so giving!

When it was all over, when all the awards were handed out, we then went back to the fairgrounds.  Terry, and Shane and the crew, gathered us together and this is what happened…  Look close, you can see Terry, Trey, Amanda, and Patrick all twirling together.  No wonder Patrick hurts so much as he left town.  Nicklaus and Palmore, Dobbs and Carl all join in in the middle.  Imagine yourself a part of this next year!!!

.

Now, if you want to be a part of this joyous occasion next year, start planning now!  My family will once again make the trek next year, and I’d love to meet you there.  We will need you to be a part of our dance/celebration!

13 responses to “A View of The Tulsa Workshop

  1. It was great to see you and meet your family Tucker. Thanks for a great report!

  2. Great report!! I definitely wish I could have been there to meet those I have never met and reconnect with others, but am also so incredibly thankful for the incredible chance to be in China!! I would say I would be there next year…but am really hoping I am able to go back to China for awhile…so maybe at some point we can all meet! 🙂

    I am glad to hear you had such a great time, despite the weather and power outages!!

  3. I think I saw Tucker in the middle there!

    Fun post, Tucker. We’re already talking about the Bloggers stuff for next year. It will be fun!

  4. That is exactly the way it happened. Excellent reporting Tucker!

  5. Dude … that was the best workout that I’ve had in a long time 🙂

  6. PS – I’m curious on the class report 🙂 Will it include a video of me dancing?

  7. Thanks for the comments! It was a great time. I think doing the dance for MR. Rush, I pulled something. Looking forward to what they design for us next year!!! 🙂

  8. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  9. you are awesome, wish we didn’t have to wait til next year to hang out

  10. Hey Tucker, awesome post and video…I’m pretty sure I recognized all of you guys in there. Thanks for being so kind to me at the workshop and in your post, I appreciate you bro.
    Your blog is great, I look forward to visiting here often.
    Have a great day!

  11. Vivian Gentry

    Thanks for your nice comment. I do love reading all the blogs. Got Google Reader like John suggested and it makes it so much easier. 🙂 Loved meeting everyone at the luncheon.

  12. checkingthemail

    Tuck.. I can’t dance like that, but I am in for the Hokey Pokey in front of Theobloggers booth on Friday AM.

  13. Great site this thetractorcab.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

