Where can you give?

Part of giving is receiving!  One thing I like to do is to give when someone HAS to take it.  For example, my family and I stayed in a hotel Saturday night as we went to a wedding in Longmont, Colorado.  My wife in her younger years worked in hotelhousekeeing for a hotel.  She could tell you horror stories of cleaning rooms.  She tells of cleaning up after a bunch of cowboys held a rodeo in one room.  Hay bales, beer bottles, and chewing tobacco all over the place.  Her past experience has led her to always leave a $5 bill on the bed each night we stay at a hotel.  Now, we don’t know for sure who cleans the room, and they don’t have any other option than to take the money.  It’s just a small token of our appreciation for cleaning up after us.

May is the month of giving.  This morning as I sat to write a post, I was called by our neighbor down the street.  (Granted, they live a mile and a half away)  She was late for work and found a dead battery and called to see if I could assist.  I got in the truck and did what any average farmer in the world would do, I got her going.  She thanked me and I smiled and said, “Not a problem!”  But, she led me into what is really worrying her.

It appears that her and her husband uprooted their family from Kansas to move here so that he could take this promising  job at the local ethanol plant.  She informed me that he is searching hard for a new job because last week they laid off six employees and speculation is, they won’t be open through the summer.  They just bought the homestead down the road and their kids are starting to get used to school.  I could tell she was scared.  Now I am wondering, why am I the one that had to hear that story?

It’s so much easier to just give $5 at the hotel room.

Would you rather be comfortable, or would you rather make a difference?

3 responses to “Where can you give?

  1. This is a great post. I will have to start leaving money in hotel rooms for the housekeeper. I never thought of that. I do always leave a note for them thanking them for their service.

    I have learned that it is easier to give to others than to keep things for myself. In the long run, I get the money or food or whatever back, so it doesn’t hurt me. One of the things I like to do the most is give a homeless person a coupon for a meal at a restaurant, or give them a bottle of water in the summer. It’s the little things that count.

  2. Tucker, as always, deep thoughts. I struggle with this myself. Thanks for the post!

  3. I’ve taught my congregation that tipping is one of the ways we show grace — and that we should refuse to eat or sleep somewhere without leaving a generous tip. (when told by one person that that would leave them without enough money to eat, I responded “We don’t have to eat. We have to be good.”

    Thank you for being this family’s angel. I would imagine they are going to need their angel a few more times in the future.

Leave a Reply

