Welcome to My World

It has definitely been an interesting past couple of weeks.  I just wanted to use this post to welcome all of you who have decided to follow “the Twittering Farmer”.  From my recent exposure from my CNN interview, I have added over 1400 new Twitter followers.  It continues as every day I get messages from new people adding to the mix.

Many of you have sent me personal messages.  Many of those were thanking farmers for their hard work and efforts to keep this nation and world fed.  Whoever thought we could have a conversation about technology on the farm in the middle of nowhere.  I just wanted to take a moment and say Thank You and Welcome!

Let’s rewind the tape for a moment.  My wife has returned from Africa, but then loaded up my 4 kids and headed to Branson, MO.  (They are returning today) I’m trying to harvest wheat, but it was too wet and the place where we deliver it does not want wet wheat.  Something about wet wheat won’t grind into flour., go figure!  So, I waited by getting 400 acres of millet planted.  Unfortunately, 90 acres shy of the goal, it decided to rain…and hail.  It hailed out 300 acres of the 700 acres I had left to harvest.  This makes the 5th hail storm I have had this growing season.  Over 50% of Perkins County, Nebraska has suffered from hail damage.  It’s the nature of  the business. You can see pics here.

That is the latest from this area.  Feel free to ask questions in the comment section and I will attempt to answer your questions.

I have looked at many of the new followers.  Of course, there are a spattering of Spammers, but for the most part, many are real people.  What is quite peculiar is many are fairly new to Twitter.  I wanted to offer some suggestions of what to do with this new piece of the conversation.

  1. Converse – Twitter only becomes valuable, fun, interesting, entertaining, educational if you get involved.  It’s easy, just send me a message here.

  2. Look – Find other people or businesses that interest you.  Plenty of areas out there to keep you in the conversation.

  3. Learn – Don’t be annoying.  Learn the features of twitter.  If you don’t know, ask.  Someone sitting in their office or tractor will help you.

So welcome to my world!  Lot’s more to come.  I’m thinking of producing some audio and video stuff from my little corner of the world and share what’s going on in my cubicle.

That all comes after I get the wheat harvested.  Oh, and by the way, farmers have insurance when disasters strike.  It helps pay the bills so we can do it all again next year.

11 responses to “Welcome to My World

  1. Thanks pal. Very interesting life you have. Good luck with the harvest.

    Royce

  2. Great Post Tykerman1. Who would have ever thought a simple farmer from Indiani could teach us about Twitter! Do work!

  3. “A simple farmer from Indiani”? I’m confused. I thought you were in Nebraski! Ha. Just south of where I graduated high school! Ah, yes, Western NE, where hail & range fires make for not-so-fun summers. I still remember a summer (probably 1974) spent watching the orange sky & praying. It was huge. It was days. Sorry about the hail storm & the wheat & corn. Glad the wife & kids are coming home. Hope you got the propane tank for the grill filled. Don’t want you going hungry. I’m proud to say we met before you became famous! 🙂

  4. I found your twitter feed via the Cnn article and now found you blog via a tweet. It’s really nice to have a place to keep up with the happenings on the other end of the food delivery chain and get a feel of farm life. I live in a rural farming community here in Pennsylvania but seldom get a chance to interact with any of the farmers so this is really quite nice. Keep up the great work and thanks for all you do to feed us here in the good old U.S.A. Watch out for those twisters !

  5. Good post. One thing that can be somewhat hard to grasp is Twetiquette (twitter etiquette). But there’s not a lack of blog posts on that 😉 Also, compared to third-party apps, the Twitter website is pretty lame

  6. Interesting indeed.
    I enjoy reading your blog.
    Keep up the great work!

  7. 1400 New Twitters! Way to go and good job on sharing your information. I don’t Twitter…yet. 🙂

  8. I’ve always wanted a lot of followers. Who knew I’d have to be a twit first! Glad you are having fun in tweet land. And the photos were incredible. Yikes.

  9. just got home from vacation of driving through 8 States including Nebraska…as we where driving through I was telling my husband about you and the CNN story…on our way home through your State we got into a storm and Tornado warning with hail, I thought of you and the possible loss of your planted crop. I’m sorry to hear of your hail damage.

  10. Hey Steve,
    Sorry to hear you are having so much rain and hail storms out west too! We had rain everyday last week at the bike rally! Some bad accidents and a fatality too!
    I was thinking of you and how dangerous farming is and how little people think of that aspect. Praying for you and your family! God bless!

  11. Steve, Was excited to find you out here in the blogosphere! Looking forward to reading more!

    Becca
    Farm Credit

Leave a Reply

