More Reading

How are your New Year Resolutions?

I don’t make any, so I don’t have to break any.  Yes, it was a flipping of the calendar.  It was the start of a brand new year, a fresh beginning.  So why do we have to have a fresh beginning on a certain date?

I once heard Jim Rohn question as to  why should one wait to make a change that would benefit your life.  Great point!  However, being a weak and conformist human that I am, I have engulfed myself to starting something on the 1st day of January.  Its, called reading.  As in reading a book which is something I partake of in so rarely.  I prefer audible.  I love to listen to audio books and podcasts.  It works much easier for me except for those books which aren’t in the audio format.

In fact, I have taken on reading the entire Bible.  In fact, our entire church has undertaken this project.  We are reading the The Daily Bible, by F. LaGard Smith.  The challenge: to read this with fresh eyes.  The Daily Bible is written in what is thought to be the order in which it was written, not in the order it is actually placed in the Bible that we commonly know today.  Just another way of reading it.

Let me admit, I have never read the entire Bible in my life.  I have gone to church my entire life, but I have never just engrossed myself in this book from cover to cover.  I find it amazing that the most popular book in the world is one I haven’t completely read.  Gonna change that.  In fact, I’m willing to garner a guess that a majority of those who wear the name Christian have also failed to have read this entire book.

Judging a book by reading a few select passages really isn’t any different than understanding the book by looking at the cover.

 

As I have started out this year, I have been intrigued by the things I have thought I knew about the stories in Genesis.  Its absolutely fascinating stuff.  Its not too late to join in.  Pick it up and get started.

29 responses to “More Reading

  1. We did that a couple of years ago. I loved it also! Let me give you another “hint” that I found helpful: Read it as a book, not the Bible. I read a printing that was done in paragraph form as opposed to book, chapter, verse. It was amazing how differently I read it! Also, because it was not my good Bible, I was free to highlight anything, scribble thoughts, questions or any notation. I found this very liberating. Highly recommended!

  2. i love deuteronomy and ezekiel
    don’t give up during Leviticus!!

  3. I was free to highlight anything, scribble thoughts, questions or any notation. I found this very liberating. Highly recommended!

  4. rests, therefore keeping things from going the way of the LODR. If it’s not happening in both SM and in our routine/daily lives, I can see the Law

  5. don’t interact with on a daily basis in one way or another outside of SM) interested in the same topics, that catch your “fire’ or share the same interests, therefore keeping things from going the way of the LODR. If it’s

  6. It was amazing how differently I read it! Also, because it was not my good Bible, I was free to highlight anything, scribble thoughts, questions or any notation. I found this very liberating. Highly recommended!

  7. This is it for me. When I want a basic oatmeal raisin cookie, I will not launch a new internet search or flip through more cookbooks. I will just come right back here and make these time and time again.

  8. ntasy especially helped the vegetables go down easier. Broccoli florets were trees, cauliflower were my birch trees, brussels sprouts were bushes, c

  9. ly focused on content and that the name/brand in general gives people the

  10. Bible, I was free to highlight anything, scribble thoughts, questions or any notation. I found this very liberating. Highly recommended!

  11. good Bible, I was free to highlight anything, scribble thoughts, questions or any notation. I found this very liberating. Highly recommended!

  12. It was amazing how differently I r lso, because it was not , I was free t scribble thoughts, questions or any notation. I found this very liberating. Highly recom

  13. I was free to highlight anything, scribble thoughts, questions or any notation. I found this very liberating.

  14. brand new year, a fresh beginning. So why do we have to have a fresh beginning on a certain date?

  15. Bible, I was free to highlight anything, scribble thoughts, questions or any notation. I found this very liberating. Highly recommended!

  16. was free to highlight anything, scribble thoughts, questions or any notation. I found this very liberating. Highly recommended

  17. if I could use the picture of the smiley face from your

  18. I found this very liberating. Highly recommended

  19. Bible, I was free to highlight anything, scribble thoughts, questions or any notation. I found this very liberating. Highly recommended!

  20. shares in this blog is really nice, actually,
    I no longer have to follow the internet world
    of blogs to take advantage of this style, I would
    like to set up a site, but recently I tried I could
    not have a friend View a school he did not know, but
    my room will help me more to move forward on cı I’m
    jealous already kurmayacağım also …

  21. yes your site is really wonderful people have been searching for other web sites you’ve found it is getting very relieved to sweat, my eyes until my uncle no longer flows out of sleep refreshing towels cursor would follow you.

  22. on my blog I will also link back to this post Thanks

  23. Marble Floor Care marble floors, heavy favorite, but there is a special need for a delicate cleaning and protection.

  24. There are veterinary clinic Maltepe district of Istanbul. Provide emergency ambulance services to better serve you.

  25. of those who wear the name Christian have also failed to have read this entire book.

  26. This is one of the most awaited event most designers are looking forward to. I’ll definitely be part of this activity. Can’t wait to see new amazing vector designs

  27. you issues in this sense is obviously a very good site is full suits me very carefully, but with are more intensive follow-up will have mixed commentss and are you teacher mothers ?

  28. Greetings! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a
    team of volunteers and starting a new initiative
    in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on.
    You have done a outstanding job!

Leave a Reply

